MANUFACTURED

 a podcast about sustainability and the making of fashion

We’ve been lucky to have front row seats to the fashion supply chain, and we want to bring this insider perspective to you. Join us in our quest to illuminate the fashion supply chain and change the industry we love for the better.

Jessie Li & Kim van der Weerd

Recent episodes

85. Everyday Essentialism: On Differentiating “Brands” from “Suppliers”

85. Everyday Essentialism: On Differentiating “Brands” from “Suppliers”

We all know that there’s a kind of essentialism that happens in conversations about sustainable fashion (and beyond). It’s shorthand that artificially groups together very diverse groups of people and lumps them according to a single or several defining features. This episode is an open discussion of two such terms: “brand” and “supplier.”

84. Decarbonization – Three Manufacturers on Whether They Have Mapped Pathways for Achieving their Decarbonization Targets

84. Decarbonization – Three Manufacturers on Whether They Have Mapped Pathways for Achieving their Decarbonization Targets

Do apparel manufacturers have mapped pathways for achieving their decarbonization targets, or not? This episode features responses to this question from three different manufacturers: Mustafa Ahmad the General Manager of Sustainability for US Apparel & Textiles in Pakistan, Krishna Manda the Vice President of Corporate Sustainability for Lenzing, and Matthew Guenther, the Director of Environmental Sustainability for TAL Apparel.

Our first live event with Transformers Foundation!

When:        April 13th at 11am EST / 5pm CET / 6pm Istanbul / 8pm PKT / 8:30pm IST
Duration:  One hour

Vertical Integration & The Sustainable Fashion Agenda

As supply chains came to a screeching halt last year, consolidation and vertical integration became the latest buzzwords. But, these ambiguous terms can mean many different things. How and why do suppliers at various tiers decide which parts of the production process they’re going to do? And how does this shape approaches to sustainability?

About us

Co-founder Jessie Li – Working for diverse parties across the fashion supply chain in both China and Cambodia has shaped Jessie’s conviction that supply chain relationships are complex, and the people within them often misunderstood. She’s a thinker, and reflects deeply about why people behave the way that they do. You can also talk to her about environmental conservation, long distance hiking and her cats.

Jessie Li

Jessie Li

Kim van der Weerd

Kim van der Weerd

Co-founder & host Kim van der WeerdKim moved to Cambodia armed with a background in human rights and a desire to better understand the fashion supply chain. Managing production facilities challenged all of her assumptions about what sustainable fashion requires, made her a firm advocate of equal partnership, and instilled a deep respect for the exhausting and difficult work of making clothes. She too, likes to talk about cats.

Get in touch