068. Matthew Wallace on DXM: An On-Shore, On-Demand Manufacturer Co-Owned by Shahi Exports, Brandix, MAS Holdings, Busana Group, and Carhartt (Part 2)

This is part two of a conversation with Matthew Wallace, CEO of DXM & guest co-hosted by Gauri Sharma. DXM is a local, on-demand manufacturing company that’s co-owned by one brand and four suppliers. [...]
02 Nov 2021
00:37:40
Manufactured
Manufactured
068. Matthew Wallace on DXM: An On-Shore, On-Demand Manufacturer Co-Owned by Shahi Exports, Brandix, MAS Holdings, Busana Group, and Carhartt (Part 2)
/

This is part two of our conversation with Matthew Wallace, CEO of DXM. The conversation is co-hosted by Gauri Sharma, Senior Manager for Organizational Development at Shahi Exports and Co-Founder of SUSS.

DXM is a local, on-demand manufacturing company that’s co-owned by different supply chain actors. There are five founding partners: Shahi Exports, Brandix, MAS Holdings, and Busana Group, and Carhartt.

In this episode we get into who the partners are, what the process for bringing together such massive competitors was actually like, what the fashion industry can learn from other industries, and what the social and environmental implications of the DXM model might be. 

Want to dig deeper ?

I published this some time ago, but given the themes of this episode, it seems like an appropriate time to bring it back: Why Shared Financial Risk is the Key To Radically Transforming the Fashion Industry.

Are you a manufacturer? Join for an exclusive, unrecorded, informal, supplier meet-up I’m organizing together with the Asia Garment Hub about the Sustainable Terms of Trade Initiative (the supplier led-call for minimum standards on purchasing practices) on Monday 8 November at 8AM CET / 1PM Dhaka / 2PM Phnom Penh / 3PM Hong Kong. Miran Ali will share a couple of updates, and the rest of the session will focus on Q&A. More information here.

Recent Episodes